Tools and Resources for Active, Independent LivingMEMBER LOGIN

TRAIL board elects new members for 2020

TRAIL of Johnson County welcomes four new members to its Board of Directors this year. They include:

  • Vincent Gaffney, Coralville, a Trust Officer at Hills Bank and Trust Company. He holds undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Iowa, serves on the board of the Cedar Rapids Area Estate Planning Council, and is a past board member of the North Liberty Kiwanis.
  • Peggy Mills, Iowa City, Professor of Russian at the University of Iowa. In 2005 she earned a Master in Public Health (MPH) degree from the UI with a Community and Behavioral Health specialty. She has volunteered with Mercy Hospital, Iowa City Hospice, and Table to Table.
  • Marlea O'Brien, Iowa City, retired Research Manager of the UI’s Child Language Research Center, a large, interdisciplinary and multi-institutional laboratory. She volunteers with the Iowa City Community School District and University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
  • Dottie Persson, Iowa City, retired UI librarian and retired adjunct assistant professor in the UI College of Education. She is an active volunteer for Shelter House, the UI Institutional Review Board, the American Library Association, and the League of Women Voters.

Each new member will each serve a three-year term. They replace retiring TRAIL board members and founders Charlie Anderson, Maggie Elliott, Linda McGuire, and David Rust, all of Iowa City.

TRAIL board members and officers for 2020, in addition to the individuals noted above, are Michelle Buhman, past chair, Iowa City; Marty Fields, Iowa City; Beth Beadle Legue, treasurer, Iowa City; Diana Lundell, secretary, Coralville; Susan Shullaw, chair, Iowa City; Joy Smith, Iowa City; Barb Stein, Iowa City; Elizabeth Swanson, Iowa City; and Alex Taylor, chair-elect, Coralville.